The Spinners

♪ In These Shoes? (Kirsty MacColl, 2000) ♪

In British, Faye Balanon, Folk, Pop, Summer Songs, Track Reviews on April 12, 2010 at 7:11 am

Listening to “In these Shoes?” feels like overhearing a conversation from a group of women in a bar:

I once met a man with a sense of adventure, he was dressed to thrill wherever he went. He said, ‘Let’s make love on a mountain top, under the stars on a big hard rock.’ I said, ‘In these shoes? I don’t think so.’ I said, ‘Honey, let’s do it here.’

Then you mutter, “Bullshit. They’re making it up.” But as you listen further, you smile and start to daydream about that brave woman and the guy with a faraway look in his eyes.

I try not to be my normal self during my annual summer vacations. I wear dresses and skimpy bathing suits, pretending to be the woman Kirsty MacColl sings about. And that makes me giddy with happiness, as what every summer should be.

– Faye Balanon

Download “In These Shoes?”

