The Spinners

♪ Chasing Vapor Trails (His Turn To Cry) (Syd Straw feat. Marc Ribot, 1989) ♪

In Alternative Rock, Ambient, Dodo Dayao, Indie Rock on February 1, 2010 at 3:50 am

What a web you weave, was I easy to deceive? I gave you ten second chances, you gave me nine alibis. . . Where did Syd Straw, erstwhile Golden Palominos chanteuse and no-hit wonder, go from here, I wonder? But here she was, slow-dancing with tears in her eyes while Ribot’s serpentine guitar ever so gently weeps. I listen to her duet with Michael Stipe, “Future 40’s (String of Pearls)”, almost as much as I listen to this, but the ache her warble gains always wins me over and makes this weepy quasi-country ballad go down a lot better in a winter of discontent that has long dissolved past regret into an opaque melancholy.

– Dodo Dayao

