The Spinners

♪ Another Sunny Day (Belle and Sebastian, 2006) ♪

In British, Indie Pop, RM Topacio-Aplaon, Track Reviews on January 28, 2010 at 6:08 pm

So who cares if some of the commuters see me stomping and partly dancing in the sidewalk on a rainy day Tuesday? Blame Belle and Sebastian, for making me feel like I am walking on sunshine, in a sunlight-kissed December morning, enjoying the day off.

Soothed by Stuart Murdoch’s vocals and his not-so-obvious rhyming scheme, I am led to believe that skipping “Another Sunny Day” in the album might pull me out of my newfound dance floor. With tickles from the female back-up voice and rhythm from Stevie and Bobby’s guitars, I think it’s one of the band’s memorable songs. It is a heartbreak song hidden in the comfortable confines of a nursery rhyme, and every time I listen to it, I can feel my ears thanking me for its lovely tune.

– RM Topacio-Aplaon

