The Spinners

Anesthesia (Nerveline, 2005)

In Alternative Rock, Julius Maraya, OPM on January 24, 2010 at 2:58 am

I saw Nerveline for the first time as musical guest on a noontime show (clue: frontman’s name is Gian Sotto). Right then and there, I felt they were trying to emulate something from the grunge era. Long hairs, baggy clothes, trashy guitars and everything Kurt Cobain sold to MTV kids. I was never into this grunge sound, but the band, upon watching them play, piqued my interest. Sadly, by the time I got around listening to the whole album, Anesthesia is not much of a joy to immerse into. Once, I listened to it on a lazy Sunday afternoon and halfway through the album, sleep came easily. Perhaps it’s the redundant melodic characteristic of grunge that benumbs me. But thinking about the album’s title. . . oh, okay, it makes sense. Very consistent, I must say, but try harder.

– Julius Maraya

