The Spinners

Heligoland (Massive Attack, 2010)

In Ayn Marie Dimaya, British, Trip hop on January 20, 2010 at 11:21 am

The problem with becoming an icon is you constantly have to outdo yourself. And so the fathers of trip-hop (though they hate the term) return with their signature dreamy mood music, bringing with them some of the most distinctive voices in the industry: Tunde Adebimpe, Horace Andy, Guy Garvey, Damon Albarn, Hope Sandoval, and Martina Topley-Bird, in an album that is more than okay and yet still somehow less than awesome. Perhaps I expect too much.

And unfairly so it would seem, because every song is, in itself, quite interesting: the drugged-like opening of “Pray for Rain”, the funky beats of “Babel”, the lethargic gloom of “Splitting the Atom”, the dark driving pulse of “Girl I Love You”, the repetitive lull of “Psyche”, the sheer beauty that is “Paradise Circus”, the quiet urgency of “Rush Minute”, the atmospheric swoon of “Flat of the Blade”, the romantic desperation of “Saturday Come Slow”, the heady abandon of “Atlas Air. . . the genius is there, everything about the genre I love, except as a whole, I find myself barely stirred whereas I wanted the album to be an experience I could truly lose myself in. I wanted to jump right in and wallow in its waves and instead I feel like I’m hovering on the brink of something that should have been amazing.

– Ayn Marie Dimaya

